Okay, is there a searchable TV / movies corpus?

Saturday, 28 March 2026 02:04 pm
conuly: (Default)
[personal profile] conuly
Or several corpuses? (Corpora?)

I’m just getting tired of people claiming that “nobody” says things that I’m certain I’ve recently heard on contemporary lowbrow media. But I just can’t prove it! And I can’t make them prove it either!

Even fansites with searchable scripts would be something.

I am not artsy enough for this movie

Saturday, 28 March 2026 01:43 pm
the_shoshanna: sad man saying "Is it just me or is sophistication sort of shit?" Woman answers, "Yeah but you get used to it and you cant go back." From an Oglaf comic: https://www.oglaf.com/N2/ (sophistication)
[personal profile] the_shoshanna
The other day Geoff and some friends and I went to see an Icelandic movie called The Love That Remains, and I have basically no idea what the hell it was.

I mean, moment by moment it was interesting, and engaging, and the kids were great? It's a couple with three kids, the couple are divorced but still pretty involved with each other (including occasional sex), he's out working on a fishing boat much of the time and she lives with the kids and her dad and is an artist. But, it starts with them divorced but still bound up with each other, and it ends with them divorced but still bound up in each other, and it seemed to me that at least a couple of years went by (judging by what we see of the changing seasons, although IMDb says it's one year) but the kids never age or go to school or indeed see any human being other than their family (except for a brief medical thing), and it's sort of magically weird (e.g., dad kills one of the family's roosters because it's supposedly become aggressive and is then -- in a dream, presumably? -- himself savaged by a giant rooster) and I have no idea whether the way it ends is real-world plausible, or another dream sequence, or just plain bananas.

the endingBecause of the injury to one of the kids that prompts the medical thing, dad is going to leave his fishing boat mid-fishing trip and come home. But instead of the boat either interrupting its work returning him to shore or rendezvousing directly with another boat that can bring him home, he's plopped into the ocean in a flotation suit and just drifts in the open sea, waves washing over the emergency light blinking on his chest, for at least a full day and night, waiting for the other boat to arrive and pick him up. And he's still drifting, occasionally screaming, as the movie ends. Is he screaming because the other boat hasn't shown up and he's going to die there? Is this a remotely plausible way for him to be transferred from one boat to another? I mean, I freely admit I know nothing about commercial herring fishery, but it seems awfully risky. Is it another dream sequence? I have no clue.


As we left, we were saying bemusedly to each other, "Did anything ever . . . happen? In that entire film?" and other people leaving the theatre laughed and echoed the question.

I mean, critics apparently like it, and I guess real life can be like that (except for the seven-foot rooster), but I think I'm not artsy enough for it. I want plot.
glitteryv: (Default)
[personal profile] glitteryv posting in [community profile] fanart_recs
Fandom: BTS
Characters/Pairing/Other Subject: SUGA, Jimin, RM, j-hope, Jungkook, V, and Jin
Content Notes/Warnings: N/A
Medium: Digital art
Artist on DW/LJ: N/A
Artist Website/Gallery: [twitter.com profile] mintdr_eam
Why this piece is awesome: Seeing all 7 members wearing Songzio designs for their comeback concert is already greatness. What made these two fanarts worth reccing is how the artist shows the fits' flowy aspects so well. Also extra!kudos for making sure that j-hope's knee tattoos are present as well, heheh.

Link: 🐱🐥🐨🐿️ and 🐰🐹🐻
oursin: Painting of Clio Muse of History by Artemisia Gentileschi (Clio)
[personal profile] oursin

Things happen over a long term.

Things that look at the time like a failure or even a disaster may be sowing seeds or releasing spores and having an impact that will go on.

Or even have a counter-intuitive impact at the time: okay, The Well of Loneliness got convicted for obscenity in 1928 but 1000s of women realised they were not alone just from reading the reports in the newspapers, and 1000s of them wrote to Radclyffe Hall.

Just because something does not endure does not endure does not mean it had no influence.

Am currently reading book by a friend which makes quite a thing of long-term impact of small obscure organisations of early C20th I worked on.

Was a piece in Guardian Saturday today which doesn't appear to be yet online which was doing the ever-recurrent WO about 'I see no feminists' and I wonder what they expect them to look like and perhaps they are supposing something flashy and dramatic, which can be appropriate at times. But the work is not necessarily drawing attention to itself.

Further thought: I was a bit irked to see this: Lifeline is both a musical following Alexander Fleming’s discovery of the first antibiotic and a warning about the threat of superbugs in the present day, because the Fleming narrative erases the immense amount of work that Florey, Chain and Heatley had to put in to make pencillin actually viable.

Like Lady Gaga says

Saturday, 28 March 2026 09:01 am
nanslice: (Default)
[personal profile] nanslice
I live for the applause. XD; I've gotten some very nice comments on the Victor/Leon post and I've just been om nom nomming them up. ;3; I know we're supposed to write for ourselves and all, but I. I love comments. And I managed to reply to all of them, because I want to be that person, I want people to know I appreciate them taking the time to comment. Weh. ;/////; Comments. ;3;

Friday is my Sunday and I don't waaaant to go back to work tomorrow, I want to stay home and watch jacksepticeye play Resident Evil Village and figure out why people ship Ethan/Chris (not a dig, I'm very intrigued by the idea!). It's a short workday, even! I need to be an adult about it instead of such a baby. :(

AND THEN I LEFT THIS OPEN and it is now Saturday, a workday, which is only 1:30p-6:30p, but I don't know how to not think about work before going in. It's frustrating. :\ Gonna do some laundry and try and focus on anything else.
goss: Bert - show and tell (Bert - show and tell)
[personal profile] goss
Via [personal profile] gingicat:
If you were friends with Rubynye also known as [personal profile] minoanmiss, meravhoffman on Tumblr is collecting photos of her, and of her art and care packages that she sent out, to be part of the Virtual Memorial slide show:

https://www.tumblr.com/meravhoffman/812201183122014208/if-you-were-friends-with-rubynye-also-known-as

(Virtual Memorial takes place on April 12, at 1pm EDT (GMT -4) at a Zoom link TBD)

---

I have received so many lovely postcards from MM over the years, tucked into little corners around my house, and also little homemade Xmas tree ornaments. ♥

Will spend some time this weekend hunting them down, and taking a couple photos to send for the memorial slideshow.

I think it would be nice to include something to signify the destination, just to show how far and wide her kindness traveled. Maybe a flag or flower or something like that. ^__^

(My collection of links and announcements regarding MM can be found here.)
summerstorm: (Default)
[personal profile] summerstorm
Okay, Dragon Age: The Veilguard was VERY fun. The combat wasn't tedious at all from the very start, which I was pleasantly surprised by because I remembered (and have since rediscovered) Inquisition having the most tedious combat mechanics I have ever played with, and I'm including Bloodborne in that. Handling two party members instead of the three with the ability wheel was awesome, too. LOVED the combos, loved that I could charge my shots, loved a lot of things.

In my first playthrough, I played a they/them qunari rogue and romanced Davrin; I decided on this before even meeting him when a guide to romancing the characters I skimmed online said something like 'he'd be happy to be your prey,' and I looked at him, and I looked at that sentence, and I looked at my qunari rogue, and I looked into his eyes again, and I thought, I am going to destroy you, and it's going to be delicious. Obviously this doesn't happen in-game, not really, but I want everyone to know what my initial rationale was.

More on the game, spoilers for all of Veilguard and a bit of Inquisition. )

More Prince of Tennis posting

Saturday, 28 March 2026 08:07 pm
thawrecka: (Default)
[personal profile] thawrecka
In addition to marathon-ing the anime, I also speed ran the manga. I reread the entirety of the original Prince of Tennis manga this week, and I want you to know that nobody should do this to themselves. It is bad, and I feel bad. I will not be reading the sequel.

The beginning of the manga is about tennis. The end of the manga is about superpowers and pseudo mysticism and being willing to die on the tennis court. It is very very stupid.

(It's all on the Jump app 😂)

Anyway, thoughts on the anime inc. changes, more thoughts on the manga, etc.

  • Well it turns out the reason I remembered nothing about the Midoriyama matches is because they were pretty boring, but the jousei shonan matches that replaced that in the anime go on longer and are even more boring.

  • I forgot that thing where Ryoma's dad called kids toys to play with, what a douchebag.

  • I hate Rikkai ahahaha. Sanada beating people just makes him a douchebag.

  • The manga is funnier and more ridiculous than I remembered. The bowling episode comes straight from the manga!

  • I like Kaidoh's match with young Rokkaku guy in the manga, but I actually like Ryoma's match with him in the anime even more, it's fun and they seem to be having fun. That's probably the only adaptation change the anime makes that I actually like, though.

  • Fuji has his eyes open so much more in the manga. Also, I like temporarily blinded Fuji in the manga more but the selfless state nonsense is so dumb. What is with all the pseudo mystical nonsense?!?

  • Kaidou and Yagyuu dressing as each other to play doubles! And I just started the Nationals OVAS, and they did adapt that, yay!

  • It well and truly jumps the shark during the Shithenhoji matches. That boring doubles comedy duo comprised of homophobic stereotypes? They're not even funny! The pinnacles of mastery or whatever the fuck it was is so dull. I know it was slowly going that way, but it stopped being about anything remotely like real tennis, and started being about super powers and pseudo mystical nonsense. Inui and Tezuka doubles but it wastes the chance to be interesting about their partnership because Tezuka turns it into a singles game. Why?!? WHY?!?

  • The Rikkai matches were also so boring.

  • And like, remember early on when Fuji forfeits a match because Taka is injured and it's not actually good for adolescents to play injured? By the end Taka is like 'I am willing to die in this tennis match' and bleeding from every orifice and this is just how tennis works now in this world... The number of games where Seigaku players are bleeding all over the place by the end... I feel like by the end the mangaka forgot he wasn't supposed to be writing about superpowered samurai fighting each other to the death. It's only school sports! 🤣


I reached the bit towards the end of the anime where Ryoma's jetted off to America and Tezuka and Fuji have a match which, if I shipped them, would probably delight me, but as I don't... I'm mostly like, why is there so much exposition?! Well, because they haven't interacted much in the anime but the anime wants to sell this as a super intense relationship you just haven't been seeing so there has to be endless voice-overs about how this is so intense actually! I think it would work better if there had been more interaction between them throughout and there wouldn't have to be so much info-dumping. Also, LOL at the writers having to get Ryoma out of the country first, because realistically both Fuji and Tezuka have been way more intense at him than at each other. And why is this match three entire episodes long??

I feel like this is a writing issue - if there had been better set up long term there wouldn't need to be so much effort put into this 'no it's totally so intense you guys' thing now. I'm happy for the TezuFuji shippers, though, they must have loved this.

Also, LOL at the coach being like "tennis is like a game for him" about Fuji. Okay, but tennis is actually a game though?

Also, 12 year old Ryoma being invited to the US Open is A BRIDGE TOO FAR for me. NO! That is too stupid! And it sort of warps everything around it in the anime, which means that a bunch of scenes which were about Tezuka and people's relationships to Tezuka in the manga become about Ryoma in the anime but without the same emotional heft.

I am finally on to the Nationals OVAs, though, and I am enjoying myself. Even though Eiji basically cloning himself is so much stupider in the anime somehow. But I love Taka and Fuji's doubles match; they're nice boys who are friends and they enjoy tennis and bring interesting things to the game and that's really all I want.

I'm looking forward to seeing the Hyotei rematches animated. Those were basically the last bits of the manga I enjoyed, but also I really enjoyed them, so let's see if the anime lives up to that.

New work.

Friday, 27 March 2026 10:42 pm
hannah: (Library stacks - fooish_icons)
[personal profile] hannah
Picking up the materials for a new contract project today had me thinking about average expectations. It's a small enough project to fit inside a banker's box, and a deep enough project to keep me busy for quite a few weeks. It's also not a heavy project - like I said, banker's box - but I was told I might need a cart to carry the box the few blocks from its owner's apartment to mine. I carried it on top of the twenty-some-odd jars of herbs and spices I'd bought from someone moving out of their apartment, plus the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and jarred tomato products. It was inconvenient to maneuver, but not hard to carry.

It's going to involve cataloging personal letters, probably with indexing who sent them and who received them, who else was mentioned and where they were sent from, and I'm already thinking about how to set this all up for optimal ease of use. The hauling it over was the easy part. It's why I keep going to the gym - vanity's a small part of it, and a much larger part is being able to haul stuff around without needing the help of other people, or even much in the way of carts.
mistressofmuses: Image of nebulae in the colors of the bi pride flag: pink, purple, and blue (Default)
[personal profile] mistressofmuses
The final post about our trip to the zoo!

Once again, most of these pictures are from inside the Tropical Discovery building, which is always my favorite, ha.


Eyelash viper, indeed showing off some lovely lashes.


Eight pictures below the cut:

This monitor was climbing up the tree right as we arrived.


Cobra!


They seem like they're just hanging out.


This guy looks like a little dragon!


Last time someone said the alligator snapping turtle looked like it was just an ordinary-sized turtle, so this time I attempted to get an object for scale. Unfortunately a large crowd of people were coming up, so I didn't get to position my for-scale water bottle the best. The bottle is closer than the turtle, so he's really still even bigger than he looks!


Just a wonderfully polite looking komodo dragon. Would never bite you and leave you to die of sepsis.


Chameleons are so cool. I love their mitten hands.


This guy came right up to stare back, haha.



I love the salt and pepper rattlesnake. :)

I Wonder You

Saturday, 28 March 2026 08:37 am
setsuled: (Mouse Sailor)
[personal profile] setsuled posting in [community profile] disneyplusshows


I felt bad for casting aspersions on Wonder Man without watching it properly so I went back and watched the first two episodes. It's not as bad as I originally thought though it does fail the test, "Would I Watch This If It Weren't the MCU?"

Extremely mild spoilers for the first two episodes of Wonder Man behind the cut )

Hollywood loves to make movies about itself but they're only occasionally successful at the box office. Here's my top ten list:

10. Tropic Thunder
9. The Other Side of the Wind
8. All About Eve
7. Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
6. In a Lonely Place
5. Inland Empire
4. Sullivan's Travels
3. Sunset Boulevard
2. Singin' In the Rain
1. Mulholland Drive

Wonder Man is available on Disney+.

Pokémon Legends Z-A again

Friday, 27 March 2026 06:13 pm
soc_puppet: Words "Baseless Opinion" in orange (Baseless Opinion)
[personal profile] soc_puppet
Still plugging away at this! I've mostly gotten over the motion sickness, but it does pop up from time to time. That said, a new contender for annoying traits has arisen: The absolute supremacy of the night/day changeover. Surely, even if simply challenging someone in the Z-A Royale isn't enough to override the change, being mid-battle with a wild Pokémon should be?

Speaking of things getting interrupted in the Z-A Royale, I'm definitely miffed that another trainer can spot and challenge me when I've already sent my Pokémon to challenge them. Very annoying! I should absolutely get first strike if I've already targeted their 'mon and set mine to attack it! Harrumph!

On the plus side, in addition to the guaranteed shiny Mareep, I've picked up a shiny Alpha Bellsprout and a shiny regular size Weedle, so I'm ahead of the game on shinies! Thank goodness for the shiny announcement side effect, or I never would've noticed the Weedle.
shipperslist: stack of books (reading)
[personal profile] shipperslist posting in [community profile] cnovels
I finished MisVil today and posted a review on my journal:

Mistakenly Saving the Villain by Feng Yu Nie

It was definitely an interesting read but it's Heavy and deals with Heavy stuff. While I didn't always agree with the author, I appreciated a c-novel where sexual violence is treated as a violation instead of a profound proclamation of love.


conuly: (Default)
[personal profile] conuly
Minor season 5 spoiler )

I actually have a similar thought about the most recent episode I watched of Young Sherlock, Read more... )

************


Read more... )

(no subject)

Friday, 27 March 2026 04:09 pm
kradeelav: Zihark, FE10 (fe)
[personal profile] kradeelav
i've spent the last day slowly figuring out the scope of what i want in this next project with gamedev....

see, it's always been a dream of mine to recreate tellius as a walkable 3D world. i like that world and characters, and think it'd be Neat. it's safe to say after twenty years i doubt i'll get bored with it anytime soon, so the low-level consistent drive is certinally there. but actually taking a stab at this does several additional things:

* forces me to learn blender beyond 'pick a video to do one small thing, flail a bit with copying it, and giving up out of boredom'.  3D modeling is one of the last frontiers creatively that i had been intimidated by, and this would create a consistent positive cycle with lots of mini-goals to tinker with, while not having to come up with ideas from scratch.

* obviously this wouldn't be sell-able in any way given the IP, but giving the game files to tellius old heads to have fun with would be cute. :)

* lowkey honest to god great reference for future tellius doujinshi/drawings.....

anyway -

finding PoR/RD's high res textures was an incredible boon because the bottleneck of most games is the sheer amount of assets needed, even if you're an artist. i like painting textures, but i was not looking forward to having to recreate .... everything.... this also lets me put in placeholders with fairly little effort as well as seamlessly matching the world i'd want to recreate.

 i'm actually considering using blockbench again for the initial wave of modeling because i had about a month or two genuinely having fun with it creating basic low poly work and painting my own textures to the point i made a walk cycle for one character and a basic environment with fairly little difficulty (this was right before gunter ate my brain in 2023 or so). perhaps working in that program there briefly could stretch those muscles again before attempting blender...

* in terms of NPC and general graphic complexity, i'd be happy with a majora's mask equivalent. this isn't no 'recreate elden ring/skyrim' scope creep. majora's mask felt dense and lived in, but "basic" enough with polygons and gameplay it won't eat my computer alive lol.

of course, since this kind of thing invites dreaming, the pie in the sky ideas my brain was running wild with last night: 

* what if a wyvern delivery service mini game that unlocks fast travel. creating crude weather systems (so a wyvern flight isn't a boring direct line between A and B) where there's a chance of lightning bolts to OHKO a wyvern, or a tornado like gust to likewise OHKO a pegasus (nodding to their weakness of lightning/wind reciprocally.)

* in terms of "filling up" the towns with characters we know, i was wondering if there'd be a cool system where there'd be a % chance makalov could be at any tavern in begnion, volke could have a lower % at any one in the continent in general.

* what if bright eyes gets a whole special combat system where you're encouraged to take damage to regenerate/counterattack. friendly to newcomers but also has a weird skill learning curve. (this is also making me think how cool would it be to incorporate my ashera's tower survival horror game idea.)


Feeling the Ugh

Friday, 27 March 2026 02:22 pm
yourlibrarian: IGotYou-_cuethepulse (SPN-IGotYou-_cuethepulse)
[personal profile] yourlibrarian
1) For those who use Zoom for meetings, something to be concerned about: WebinarTV Turning Zoom Calls into AI Podcasts. Stanford has issued guidelines to campus users to prevent it happening.

2) Turns out Xfinity offered us free Peacock (supposedly Peacock Premium but we have ads anyway). Getting Peacock access was quite a process though. All I should have had to do was click the email link and accept the offer. In fact, everything I tried kept sending me to a 404 page. Read more... )

3) When I finally did get into Peacock, I used it to watch Song Sung Blue and thought it was mostly an enjoyable film. I liked Hugh Jackman and Kate Hudson leaning into their ages and downplaying his looks. The music was fun and it was a nice, small scale love story. spoilers ).

3) The Peacock issue wasn't the only technical frustration of the last few days. After finishing my taxes and other to-dos I had pending, I wanted to take some time to get back into my LEGO Star Wars game on the Xbox which I'd last tried almost 3 years ago. Read more... )

4) I feel surprisingly upset to hear that Starfleet Academy is essentially cancelled. (There's another season coming but that had already been planned before S1 began). I wrote earlier about how much I was enjoying it, and that was before I watched the fourth episode. I will miss these characters, and it seems there's so much more that could be done.

5) The latest [community profile] marchmetamatterschallenge writing prompt was "How do you define genres? Is it still a useful tool to find entertainment you like, or have offerings become so niche and melded that it's hard to use categories anymore? Was it ever something useful for you, personally?"

To some degree yes, but increasingly no. Read more... )

Poll #34417 Kudos Footer-568
This poll is anonymous.
Open to: Registered Users, detailed results viewable to: All, participants: 6

Want to leave a Kudos?

View Answers

Kudos!
6 (100.0%)



Friday misc

Friday, 27 March 2026 07:31 pm
oursin: Brush the Wandering Hedgehog by the fire (Default)
[personal profile] oursin

Gosh those people with the archivists' sales team are persistent! I've heard again - okay, different name and email, exact same wordage - TWICE, second time with added 'Worth a chat?'

No, sir, not in the least.

***

This week I got the Authors Licensing and Copyright Society payout, which was an agreeable sum, maybe it would not actually support me in My Old Age, but it is Better Than A Bat In The Eye With A Burnt Stick. Furthermore, as it is itemised - all the tiddly sums that get totted up - it is a Revelation of what works of mine are still being looked at, wow.

***

Church attendance report pulled after YouGov finds 'fraudulent' responses:

A report claiming the number of young people attending church in England and Wales had skyrocketed has been retracted, after the underlying data was found to be flawed.
The Bible Society's "Quiet Revival" report had been widely reported on since its publication last year and became an accepted part of discourse among many Christians.
Now YouGov, which carried out the research, has told the Bible Society that an internal review of the data found that some of the respondents who completed its survey were "fraudulent".
It has said that quality control measures, which usually remove such responses, were not applied due to human error.
....
But academics questioned the findings, pointing out that the results seemed out of step with other data. Results from the long-running British Social Attitudes Survey, and even the Church of England's own figures, show a long term decline in church attendance.
Experts said that YouGov's methodology - gathering data from volunteers who received cash rewards for their time - left it vulnerable to "bogus respondents" skewing the data.

Murmurs about Mammon distorting the data....

***

Pepys ‘curated’ letters to conceal being offered enslaved boy as bribe – research:

Howe wrote to Pepys to “crave your acceptance” of a “small” enslaved boy, which “I brought home on board for your honour … Hoping he is so well seasoned to endure the cold weather as to live in England.”
Pepys wrote back indignantly rejecting the offer. But Edwards argues this was not because of ethical concerns about slavery, but the optics of looking like a man who could be bribed.

***

This is quite resonant with discussion I was having this week apropos of my 1930s feminists and the less visible ways in which the work was happening, so much so that it's been supposed (it was being claimed at the time) that Feminism Woz Ded: The Way of Water: On the Quiet Power of Ursula K. Le Guin’s Activism.

Profile

spindizzy: Cartoon of me wearing a mask and looking tired (Default)
Susan

About

Hi! I'm Susan, I write for [community profile] ladybusiness and The Lesbrary, and I do transcripts for Fangirl Happy Hour.

If you want to throw money at me, I have a patreon!

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

March 2026

M T W T F S S
      1
2345 678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526 272829
3031     

Style Credit

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios